I Lied

Last post, I went on and on about whether or not I should keep this expensive planner that I’d bought. By the end of that post, I concluded that I should just keep the darn thing and start using it. Well, dear reader, while you weren’t looking, I changed my mind, put the expensive planner in a reused Amazon bubble envelope to protect it, put that in my ‘things to return’ bag, and returned it over the weekend.  

Instead, I decided to use this free, printable planner that I found online. I know, there are several disadvantages to something that is not already in book form, but I won’t go into that here.  I will, however, provide you with the link to the planner I am *planning* on using, and explain why. It’s not necessarily the price that made me  do it.  And the disadvantage of this new planner is that it doesn’t have a daily or weekly reflection built in, so you if you want to assess your progress, you need to build that in yourself.  However, I like that this one…. you know what?  I don’t remember anymore.  Sorry, dear reader. I already returned the old one and I can’t refer back to it to see how I made the decision.

Once I printed off all the different pages of this planner– it has yearly, quarterly, monthly, and daily sections– I started reformatting it to so that I can try and squeeze it in to more portable proportions, in case I want to take it with me.  I also made multiples of some of the pages so that I can begin filling in, for example, the next couple of months at the same time. 

Oh yes, this is one of the advantages of the new planner. I like that I can move pages around so that I can compare and copy.  For example, as I mentioned above, I want to work on laying out events on a monthly basis as opposed to a weekly basis, because that enables me to schedule a certain number of days for a task or a project more realistically. Trying to commit to doing something on the same day every week is, as I am realizing after over a decade of trying, is not a realistic proposal because there are all sorts of interruptions such as school holidays, family events, celebrations, ceremonies, etc which float around on a calendar without regard for what I expect will happen on Tuesdays. Because this planner has a space on each page for you to copy out and remind you of your larger goals, it’s also handy to be able to quickly access the long-term pages that you fill out less frequently such as the annual or quarterly pages.

That’s the end of this post, however I will leave you a little teaser: The new, printable planner almost brought me to tears.  More on that soon. 

[contact-field label="" requiredtext="(required)" placeholder="Last post I went on and on about whether or not I should keep this expensive planner that I'd bought. By the end of that post, I concluded that I should just keep the thing and start using it. Well, dear reader, while you weren't looking, I changed my mind, pu" type="textarea"/]

Leave a comment