So Proud… At Long Last

Do I deserve to congratulate myself for completing a task that has taken me probably two months longer than it could have, six weeks longer than it should have, and four weeks longer than I anticipated? It’s a complicated question.

Did I mention that I still have to review and edit it. It’s an application to a program that will hopefully support my writing habit, if I can turn it into a habit.

Oh, there are reasons and there are excuses.  There were priorities that arose. Real priorities and also invented ones. Hospitals were visited, and so were shopping malls. Winter break happened, but so did back-to-school.  People count on me, but I need to count on myself too. I had other projects going on and still do… but let’s be honest, I could have allocated more time to them and been ahead on each one.

Everything in life comes down to the serenity prayer.  God grant me the power to change the things I can, accept the things I can’t, and the wisdom to know the difference.

Of course, knowing the prayer and repeating it is the easy part.  There should be a little asterisk next to the granting of power part.  I think I know, more or less, what is in my power but then there is the issue of motivation and focus.  There has to have been at least twenty opportunities that I could have furthered my work on this application or some other project but instead chose to zone out on Netflix.  Yes, I deserve to relax sometimes. No, I don’t need to zone out as much as I do.

Now I am going to edit.  Gosh– ten to four already?  Time flies when you’re step-stoning towards your goals.

What are my goals again? Good fodder for another post.

One thought on “So Proud… At Long Last

Leave a Reply

