Moving and Shaking Part II

I’m not sure if I have a previous post called ‘moving and shaking,’ and i don’t want to distract myself by going and looking at old posts right now but I know I talked about moving and shaking and this is my second time mentioning it since I began this blog.

Michael, my wonderful ADD coach, (the Ritalin of life coaches) encouraged me to change the position of my desk so that I have a bulletin board directly in front of me. You see, I am OOSOM. I pronounce it the way a New Yorker would pronounce ‘awesome’ because, let’s face it, I am.  Really, though, OOSOM stands for Out Of Sight, Out Of Mind.  If something is not right in front of me or in some other way creating an immediate itch, I am probably not going to get around to it.

I know this about myself and I’ve definitely created coping strategies around it throughout my life.  Then there are the other coping strategies/apps/life hacks that are very useful for OOBSIM people (OOS But Still in Mind) that are completely  pointless for someone like me because they require you to go and check them, which is something an OOSOM person requires a whole lot of conditioning or reward to do.

Previously, I had a window right in front of my desk, which is really nice since I like to watch birdies and (for the last six months) watch the snow fall and other distracty things like that.  I only had about six inches of wall between the desk and the window sill and a lot of that was blocked off by my computer screen. I had a bulletin board to the right of the window, and a bulletin board to the left of the window, but they were not as captivating, nor as efficiently utilized as they had the potential to be.

Once Michael diagnosed me as an Outta Sight!-er (another thing I like to think about myself), I described my workspace setup and it’s disadvantages to him. At that point, my office clutter situation was also at an all-time low and really needed a pick-me-up, literally.  One of said bulletin boards had fallen and I had never gotten around to piking it up since I was spending so much time looking out the windows at birds and snowflakes.  I had piles and piles of papers to go through which had been piling up in my office because it’s one of the places I dump the clutter I don’t want my guests to see.  The carpet needed vacuuming, and there were documents waiting to be shredded… It was a bit of a disaster zone and I knew it was step 1.5 in my journey of getting things done.  Step 1 was the super urgent stuff.  Trouble is, I wasn’t even getting past that for a few weeks. I was in an organizatoinal slump.

Step 1.75 in the process of Being Accomplished was putting together a realistic and timed list of things to do (or, as my Brazilian relatives call it, things Tudo Bem*).  I was then to hang said list in front of me on my newly repositioned bulletin board (step 1.76). From the time Michael and I first talked about it until the time it actually happened took maybe about a month.  I finally had the ‘slaying the dragon’ (not what it sounds like!) talk with Michael (not what it sounds like!), which means you need to just bust through the thing you’re most dreading or which will take most time or the thing that is most important for the day FIRST. Everything else after that is icing on the cake.

Well, I did that dragon in right after I hung up with Michael.  It took me several hours. But we all know that just getting started can be the hardest step. Unless you are my office wall, in which case the hardest step is getting slammed and dented repeatedly by a deceitfully light looking desk.

Next step– what is it?  three weeks later– and I am still working on finalizing this list.  Doesn’t mean I haven’t; been accomplishing things in the meantime. Just means the list kind of slipped down the list of priorities which is really just a jumble of to-do items in my head all banging around like balls in a bingo cage.  Very good analogy for my head, actually. Pull out one idea, announce it, put it aside.

So once I get the list up and running– it’s not actually something you finalize, right? It’s dynamic.  Evolving. — I will have to give it a few weeks to see if things are working out for me.

Gosh, this is getting to be a long post. Maybe why I haven’t been posting so often lately. Maybe a wise choice, allocating my time to other exploits such as dishwasher loading and grocery shopping and IMDB-ing…

I never even got into the list structure of the Tudo Bom list.  I will. Later in another post maybe hopefully.

Anyway, now that I am in this new position in my office, there are several drawbacks.  Some were expected, some were not.  One expected drawback turned out to be not so drawn or back or whatever. I can still see out the window. I just have to turn my head. See? Snow. But it’s less distracting than it was before.

Another expected drawback that is hard to get used to: I originally planned my desk right under the window not only for the view but also because it put my feet smack dab on the heating vent. SO cozy, though it leads to dry ankles.  My feet, upon hearing the fan start up, automatically stretch out towards the vent, only to face the same disappointment over and over again. When will they ever learn?

I also have less leg room in general because, now I am in a corner.  I used to have the desk arranged with the solid drawer column to my right and the leggy side to my left. Now, Feng Shui style, I have arranged the drawer column to my right because it looks neater to someone entering the room. Perhaps I can forgo my imagined eastern interior design platitudes (I don’t actually know anything about Feng Shui) and just switch the column to the right. But that doesn’t solve the problem of not having my bookshelf right beside me as I did in my old desk position. I was able to cope with a smaller size desk because the shelf acted as a multi-tiered extension. Now I have to stand up and turn around in order to drop papers in my ‘to file’ pile.

Other setbacks:

  • Things (camera, notebook) kept falling in to my relocated garbage and recycling pails.
  • Big desk chair crammed into tiny space between desk and the chair to which I had to relocate the printer so that my husband and I could still share it with the new furniture arrangement.
  • Electric outlet access is diminished.

Benefits:

  • Better light for the computer. I can leave the blinds open because there is no backlighting ruining my contrast.
  • Accessible bulletin boards.

Some of these problems can be resolved. Some not so much. Will keep you posted. Maybe.

* Portuguese for ‘everything is alright.

Leave a Reply

