Very Good Advice

“I give myself very good advice but I very seldom follow it.”

-Lewis Carol

Like Alice in Wonderland, I am forever curious,  and it is sometimes my undoing.  Like a beagle on a walk, I am constantly sniffing around and tracking whatever seems interesting.  It’s not that I don’t know what I’m supposed to be doing, or where I’m supposed to be going. The problem is that there are so many interesting things going on all around me that it’s hard to focus on just one.  It’s funny– even if you put me in an antiseptic environment with white walls and just one task to accomplish and only the tools with which to accomplish it and nothing else, I still often have trouble working on things for long stretches. That is, I have trouble focusing at first, but given enough time, I will almost always find my stride and get into the groove, so to speak, until a task is done.

But all that is a blog post topic for another time. Most of that paragraph was actually the exact diversion that I was talking about IN the paragraph. I had set out to write about the very good advice that I give myself.  Normally, I’d feel pressure to edit out information that is not strictly relevant but this is my blog and not a professional or academic writing assignment so I think I’ll leave it in. If nothing else, it’s a good reflection of the entire reason for this project.

oh gosh the door.

(continued ten days later)

Curious is a prettier way of saying ‘distracted,’ at least in my case.  Curiosity is exactly what led Alice down the rabbit hole in the first place. She was supposed to be doing her lessons… or something out on the lawn (I really must cross reference this information with the original publication and not the animated version) when FLOOMP… She found herself floating in the direction of Australia* and having to mull through a series of adventures before awakening to the world she was supposed to be in.

I know that if I jump down that rabbit hole it will be very difficult to come back to where I am supposed to be, even if that place is a lovely and lush green lawn maintained by groomed servants, and somewhere that I really, desperately want to be.  I advise myself not to even look at the rabbit, and definitely not to follow it. Certainly, I should not even peek into the hole and…. floomp.  I’m in Wonderland.

Oohh. I wonder what that is? Ooh. I wonder where that leads?  Gosh, what happens if  I taste from this bottle clearly marked ‘ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY DO NOT DRINK this blend of your favorite fruits and ice cream and sweetened with cupcake batter or else you might find yourself in a world of your own, with friendly bluebirds and daisies.’

I very seldom follow my own good advice. I do always make sure to read the small print, though.

I also know that if I don’t jump down that rabbit hole at least occasionally, I would miss out on a lot of cool adventures and inspiration. And fruit smoothies.

Finding the balance between jumping into a World Of My Own and maintaining a hold on reality is what I’m going for here.

Another Lewis quote for fun:

“If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense. Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t. And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be. And what it wouldn’t be, it would. You see?”

__________________-

*That’s how North Americans imagine they’d find if they dug straight down through the diameter of the earth.  Not sure what the British paradigm is. Not sure if Lewis Carroll was British. Survey (wiki really) says: Yes. English.

One thought on “Very Good Advice

  1. Love, love, love your writing style. Perhaps blogging is a way for you to let your mind run free and to chase those disparate thoughts with no inner critic telling you that you are wrong.
    What did we say about opening doors?! 😉
    ~michael…;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

